Ideas

42 VOTE

Give a team admin the ability to publish rosters instead of sending invites immediately after the player is added to the team's roster

The system currently sends the player an invite to join the team as soon as they're added to a team. Rosters are often created and then adjusted before they're finalized. It would be great if you could add or remove players from a team's roster without the invite being sent - then once the rosters are final - the admin could "publish" or "finialize" the roster and the invites to join would be sent.

  • Brian Ingle
  • Aug 22 2016
  • Already exists
Frequency Several times a year
Which sport(s) does this apply to: Not Sport Specific
Organization type Team
  • Feb 8, 2018

    Admin Response

    When rostering your teams, make sure that the team pages are set to disabled. This will stop any notifications from going out to those added to the team. When you have your teams balanced, you can enable them and send out a welcome email. Additionally, they will also now appear in the mobile app. 

  • Attach files
  • Tracey Brown commented
    August 23, 2016 18:51

    In training many clients are dismayed that the email notification cannot be controlled by Admin as to when the rosters are ready to be "published"!

  • Jared Phillips commented
    January 27, 2017 18:13

    Yes, yes, yes!  This would be an excellent feature... we draft our teams and would love to give the coaches a chance to contact their players' parents before being notified by the system. 

  • Chris Miller commented
    January 27, 2017 19:20

    Way too many notifications get pushed to parents....to the point that they
    shut them off and stop looking at them. Might as well not have notifications

  • Ryan Cavey commented
    July 12, 2017 12:57

    I think it would be good to use the rostering tool to create the roster and once finalized move it over to the live team roster.

  • Sam Slagle commented
    July 14, 2017 15:10

    I second all comments on this one. Controlling the notifications or the step of finalizing the roster before any notifications go out would be ideal. 

     

    Consider the situation of accidentally rostering someone to the wrong team. The notification goes out and then they are rostered to the correct team where another notification goes out.  

  • Mark Andrew commented
    20 Aug 21:07

    The answer here suggest if they don't get a notification then they don't get an invite but I don't think that is true. Our club has been asking for awhile now to have a way to disable invites when adding players to a roster. I tested disabling a page and it still seems to technically invite them, they are just not notified of it. In our situation we don't want the invites to go out at all even when the page is made active. Not every player is invited to every game and for us this needs to be handled on a one on one basis by each team manager.